Shortcuts
Please wait while page loads.
LiberoBanner . Default .
PageMenu- Main Menu-
Page content

Catalogue Display

The golden child

A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas. Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness ... Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth's clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for. This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?.

Catalogue Information
Field name Details
ISBN 9781460707227
Author James, Wendy
Title The golden child [electronic resource] /
Publisher [Sydney] : : HarperCollins,, 2017.
Note Downloadable eBook.
Fiction.
A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas. Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness ... Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth's clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for. This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?.
Classification Adult.
Subject Teenagers Fiction.
Bullying -- Fiction
Families -- Fiction
Australian fiction
Internet Site https://fe.bolindadigital.com/wldcs_bol_fo/b2i/productDetail.html?productId=HCP_378122&b2iSite=1404&preview=no
Catalogue Information 454087 Beginning of record . Catalogue Information 454087 Top of page .